Join Our Mailing List:
Follow Us:
Shop Contact Us
You have 0  Item in Cart | View Cart


Arnold Heyman, M.D.

Michael A. Friedman, M.D.
Judith C. Gasson, Ph.D.
Stephen B. Gruber, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.
Adriane and Allan Morrison, M.D.
Chairs, Awards Dinner
Dani and Kevin Brenner, M.D.
Vice Presidents, Education Committee


Planting Seeds for Tomorrow's Cure...

21st Annual Research Awards
Thanks to the extraordinary generosity of our STOP CANCER members and supporters, STOP CANCER proudly presented a record eleven Research Career Development Awards and Seed Grants at the 21st Annual Research Awards dinner held at the Four Season Hotel.  
One of the highlights of the evening was the panel discussion of “Cancer Therapies 2013 & Beyond” moderated by Dr. Kevin Brenner, Education Committee Chair.   The panelists were Dr. Stephen B. Gruber, Director of USC Norris, Dr. Michael A. Friedman, Director of City of Hope and Dr. Michael Steinberg (substituting for Dr. Judith Gasson), Director of Clinical Affairs at UCLA’s Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center.  The conversation was informative and hopeful, giving our guests a first-hand insight into the future of cancer treatments.

The panelists spoke of the breadth of research underway and the scope of the challenges that lie ahead at their respective Cancer Centers. As each researcher graciously accepted their grant, we could not help but be in awe of their dedication, passion and the responsibility that they feel comes with their chosen field of endeavor.

We all know that cancer does not discriminate and this was especially evident as we heard family members and loved ones share their most personal feelings and reasons for their funding of a specific type of cancer research.  It was an emotionally moving evening for these families and our guests, further emphasizing the importance of supporting young cancer research scientists as they continue to develop more effective molecular approaches to the early diagnosis and treatment of all cancers.

Thursday, February 7, 2013
Four Seasons Hotel, Beverly Hills

Front row from left to right:  Dr. Arash Naeim, Dr. Isaac Yang, Dr. Richard Koya, Dr. Susan McCloskey, Dr. Micheal Steinberg, Dr Vu Ngo, Dr. Karen Aboody, Sherry Lansing.  Back row from left to right:  Dr. Stephen B. Gruber, Dr. Preet Chaudhary, Dr. Julie Lang, Dr. Giridharan Ramsingh, Dr. Ching-Cheng Chen, Dr. Marcin Kortylewski, Dr. Michael A. Friedman

Karen Aboody, M.D.
Smalley Family Isadore Familian Memorial Seed Grant

Ching-Cheng Chen, Ph.D.
STOP CANCER Research Career Development Award

Marcin Kortylewski, Ph.D.
Allison Tovo-Dwyer Memorial Research Career Development Award

Vu Ngo, Ph.D.
STOP CANCER Research Career Development Award


Preet M. Chaudhary, M.D., Ph.D.
Ronald H. Bloom Family lymphoma Research Award

Julie Lang, M.D., FACS
Marni Levine Memorial Seed Grant

Giridharan Ramsingh, Ph.D.
Marni Levine Memorial Research Career Development Award


Richard C. Koya, M.D., Ph.D.
Jacob David Glezer Memorial Seed Grant

Steinberg Family/Mort Steinberg Memorial Research Career Development Award

Arash Naeim, M.D., Ph.D.
I.C.O.N. Seed Grant

Isaac Yang, M.D.
STOP CANCER Research Career Development Award

These young, innovative cancer research Awardees represent the USC Norris, UCLA’S Jonsson and City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Centers that STOP CANCER has supported for twenty over years.
Hear first-hand from STOP CANCER Researchers as to how the funding has impacted their fight against cancer:


STOP CANCER is committed to funding the most promising and innovative scientists in their early research of all forms of cancer prevention, treatment, cures and subsequent clinical applications. STOP CANCER works primarily with local National Cancer Institute-designated Comprehensive Cancer Centers and other qualified institutions in the United States to carry out its mission.

Copyright © 2018 STOP CANCER. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy